Our Board

Payson Scottish Festival is organized by the
Payson Scottish Festival Board, a volunteer organization.

President: Bill Elrick - billelrick@comcast.net


Vice President: Maggie Munro - invernessie@gmail.com

 

Treasurer: Krystal Elrick - krystal.1987.kr@gmail.com

Recording Secretary: Caroll Elrick – carollelrick@yahoo.com


Vendors: Steve Elrick - steve.a.elrick@gmail.com


Clans: Dodd Greer - doddgreer2@gmail.com

Clans: DeAnne Thomas - dthomasuthc@gmail.com


Pipes Bands: Kerrie Welton - Kwelton27@hotmail.com
Pipes Bands: Jeff Mann - mannjeff@outlook.com

 

Grounds: Kent Boykin - hopeforutah@juno.com


Kids Games: Mark Sears - markwars22@gmail.com

Kids Games: Logan Millsap - millsaplogan@gmail.com


Information Booth: Emma Taylor – emt55718@gmail.com


Website & Bandstand: Maggie Munro - invernessie@gmail.com


Athletics: Aubri Fulton - utahheavies@gmail.com

 

Food Vendors: Larry & Cheryl Brown - larryandcherylbrown@gmail.com


Parade, Opening Ceremonies: April Jones - april.jones@nebo.edu


Massed Bands, Ceremonies: Dodd Greer - doddgreer2@gmail.com


Highland Dancing: Liz Archibald - lizamay24@gmail.com

 

Facilities: Tiki King - tikiking@tikiking.com

Master of Ceremonies: Doug Welton – dougwelton@gmail.com

 

Payson City: Janeen Dean - events@payson.org


Volunteers: Vacant

Graphics Designer: Vacant


Board Advisor: Sydney Young - culkein@aol.com


Chieftain 2014, 2015 - Bob Gallimore
Chieftain 2016, 2017 - Gordon DeWaal
Chieftain 2018, 2019 - Dan Lamont
Chieftain 2021, 2022 - Sydney Young

Image10067.jpg

A brief history of the Highland Gmaes

According to oral tradition, some version of the Celtic/Gaelic Highland Games predates Christianity.  These gatherings were basically war games held with the intent to select the best warriors in each family tribe or clan.

The first Games in Scotland were organized in the 11th Century and specifically designated as a sporting event. During the reign of King Malcom III (1058-1093), the Brae O¹Mar, a fairly flat meadowland along the river Dee, was used for a royal contest to find the swiftest and strongest in the kingdom.  The winners needed to be fast and have the necessary stamina to carry

King Malcom¹s messages across the land.

Games were held throughout Scotland until the Battle of Culloden in 1746.After Bonnie Prince Charlie¹s defeat by the English, the Act of Proscription banned playing of the bagpipe, wearing of the kilt, gathering together of the people, and the carrying of arms under the penalty of deportation or death. That effectively squelched a good part of the Highland culture, and literally destroyed the old clan structure.

After the repeal of the Proscription in the latter part of the 18th Century, Highland Societies began forming, and in 1781 the first society Gathering was held at Falkirk.  The success of this event led to the Gathering of the Clans and the Highland Games as we know them today.  By the end of the 1820’s Games were once again being held throughout Scotland. 

 

In the United States the first Highland Games were organized by the Highland Society of New York in the mid 1800’s.  The first games on the West Coast were held in San Francisco in 1865.

The first Highland Games in Payson Utah was in 1984.